Header Image 1

Our History

Micklefield School has been a part of the history of Reigate and its community since its foundation in 1910. The School’s first premises were a house in Evesham Road, Reigate. The house was (and is to this day) called “Micklefield” and this is how the school got its name.

In 1925, the School moved to its present site at 10 Somers Road, near Reigate town centre and the railway station. The new building had previously served as a school and excitingly it boasted a gymnasium, which played a significant role in the early days of Micklefield - dancing and dressing up glamorously for special occasions formed a large part of life at Micklefield School in those days! 

Initially a typical privately-owned primary school, Micklefield School became incorporated in 1961, and the school gained charitable status in 1966.  Charitable status ensures the School’s commitment to long term governance, financial stewardship, and sustainability, as well as the recognition that fees are set to cover expenses with any surplus being retained for investment in the School.

Micklefield has continued to expand and develop over the years. The School became fully co-educational in the 1980’s with boys being able to stay on until the age of 11. In 2004, the School acquired a new premises for the Nursery. Belton House Nursery, located at 8 Somers Road, has become a cherished space for our youngest learners, fostering their growth and development.

In the summer of 2019, Micklefield School welcomed its first Headmaster. Mr Ardé succeeded Mrs Rose who retired after having been Headmistress for 13 years.  

As Micklefield School continues to write itself into the history of Reigate, it remains committed to providing an exceptional educational experience, nurturing the potential of each child who walks through its doors.

Micklefield School photo